Addicted To The Voice

It occurs to me that my previous posts were snarky & sometimes filled with venom.  So this week I want to talk about something I love.

Summer is here and most of my shows are on hiatus or showing reruns.  I’m ready for So You Think You Can Dance & America’s Got Talent, my summer staples.  Then NBC started airing The Voice.  I thought…great.  Another reality show.  On the heels of American Idol no less.  I’m not a fan of most reality shows.  I especially hate all incarnations of The Real Housewives of (fill in state or city).  The ones with the rich women who have nothing better to do but plan elaborate parties for 2-yr-olds & fight with each other all day.  Good to know there are plenty of women still willing to live up to the stereotype that all women are backstabbing, gossiping, whiny, %$#^.  Thanks Real Housewives.  I do like competition shows.  Doesn’t matter if it’s clothes designing, cooking or amazing (and sometimes bizarre) talent.

I didn’t think The Voice had much promise.  While the celebrity judge/coach thing seemed unique the choice of coaches (Adam Levine, Christina Aguilera, Blake Shelton & Cee-Lo Green) didn’t exactly excite me.  The talent seemed just ho hum at first, with the one exception of Javier ColonThe Battle Rounds didn’t sound much better, really.  In fact, it wasn’t until the first live show that I thought any of them had promise.  Then the live show happened & it turned out most could actually sing, and perform.  I loved the way the judge/coaches actually seemed to bond with their team members.  I felt bad for them when they had to choose who to let go.  I don’t know if it’s an act, but they do seem to genuinely care.  The contestants also seem to genuinely care about each other, too.  Will it last beyond the show?  Don’t know, but for now The Voice has been a refreshing change from the “back stage drama” stuff that often goes on in most contest shows.  I also actually LOVE all four finalists! Seriously, they’re all good.   

  Dia Frampton, who’s had her songs wind up on iTunes top sellers has  been a complete surprise. Got nothing from her in the early rounds & then she blew me away the first week when she played piano. That was magic. The song was ready to be on the radio.

 

 

Beverly McClellan is outstanding & has so much energy. She may be a sentimental favorite.  I like that she’s a bit older.  It’s nice to see someone finally getting a chance after struggling for so long.

 

 

 

Vicci Martinez has surprised too.  She grows on me. Powerful vocals & also a great stage presence. She puts on a show. Her Dog Days Are Gone was hot, especially the drum playing.

 

 

Javier Colon, who was my pick to win from the very beginning. Also had songs in the Top 20 on iTunes. What a voice. He’s special & his story is touching, too.  I don’t know if he can be beaten. He just makes everyone else seem amateurish. Plus, you can never discount the cute guy factor.

 

I’ll be eagerly awaiting the finale next week.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Entertainment

4 responses to “Addicted To The Voice

  1. I’ve heard a lot of great things about this show – I’ll have to give it a chance, even though it’s late in the game. Thanks! Great blog topic!

  2. The final will probably be good even if you don’t know much about the show. Really, all 4 finalists are good & deserve to win, which isn’t usually true of all contest shows.

  3. Nice post. I’m going to put myself out there and reveal that I am a BIG fan of American Idol. Yes, I love it to death, I vote for my favorite candidate and am thrilled to watch the talent and the guests.
    To each his/her own, right?
    Patti

  4. I haven’t seen this show but I was an American Idol fan for a few years. Viewers couldn’t help but connect with the contestants. As the weeks went by you felt like you really got to know them, and you cared about them. Mostly. 🙂

    I’ll take raw talent, hope and perseverance over “real housewives” any day of the week.

Leave a Reply

