Where did the toys go in cereal boxes?

So this question came up on Final Jeopardy the other day. (and yes I regularly watch Jeopardy). The category was Americana and the question asked what product used to come with a penny whistle in it? The answer was Cap’n Crunch Cereal. (I guessed cereal but not the brand.)

capncrunch

My other choice was Cracker Jacks.)  That got me to thinking…what happened to  toys in cereal and Cracker Jacks? Do you remember when your mom would buy the sugary cereal (and my mom didn’t actually buy those kinds of cereals that often) and you’d immediately start looking for the prize? And they were pretty good prizes too. But there are no prizes anymore. They do have games on the back of the box. Cracker Jacks used to have cool stuff, too. Now you get a stupid sticker or a paper with a joke on it. I was curious so I looked it up. Found a good article about it here.

http://games.yahoo.com/blogs/unplugged/sad-fate-cereal-box-toys-200039785.html

Doesn’t seem to be a real answer. The cost of adding the toys? A safety issue…because kids are obviously too dumb to figure out they’re not eating cereal but a TOY!

Either way…I think it’s one more bit of wonder that’s disappeared from childhood…

What cool toy do you remember getting as a kid?

1 Comment

Filed under History

One response to “Where did the toys go in cereal boxes?

  1. christicorbett

    Yes! Where ARE they toys?!

    I remember swiping the box before my younger brother could get it and then tipping it until the cereal was super close to tumbling out, and then locating the toy. Then I’d root through the cereal until my hand clasped around whatever bit of awesome I was looking for. And yippee, a toy!

    Cereal today is lame :)

    Christi Corbett

Leave a Reply

